Skip to content
TECH CEO Daily
SaaSLaunch

Progress launches ShareFile Enterprise with DLP that can block sensitive file downloads

Native data loss prevention and behavior analytics arrive October 1, as Progress pushes the file-sharing service it agreed to buy for $875 million toward regulated buyers.

By · Editor

· 3 min read · Fact-checked

The 60-second brief

  • 1Progress Software launched ShareFile Enterprise on September 29 for larger and regulated organizations.
  • 2Native DLP, behavior analytics and a centralized security view become available on October 1, 2026.
  • 3Progress did not disclose pricing; buyers should compare it with the separate DLP and monitoring tools they pay for.

The news

Progress Software (PRGS) launched ShareFile Enterprise on September 29, a new offering of its ShareFile document-sharing service for larger and regulated organizations that adds built-in data loss prevention (DLP) and AI-driven behavior analytics to flag unusual activity.

The native DLP feature detects supported types of sensitive text-based content in files and lets administrators set policies that raise an alert, restrict sharing outside the organization or block downloads, Progress said. It becomes available on October 1, 2026.

User and entity behavior analytics (UEBA), also due October 1, studies activity patterns to surface behavior such as abnormal downloads, activity outside normal hours or unusual access. A centralized security view, likewise available from October 1, brings supported alerts, user and activity context and investigation paths into one place.

ShareFile Enterprise also includes SCIM provisioning with Microsoft Entra ID. SCIM is a standard for automating user accounts, so ShareFile access is added and removed as employees join or leave. A SIEM integration sends supported ShareFile activity and security events into Splunk and Microsoft Sentinel, so security teams can see it in monitoring tools they already use, Progress said.

Progress did not disclose pricing. Loren Jarrett, executive vice president and general manager of digital experience at Progress, said in the announcement that the offering gives organizations "built-in control as collaboration grows" without scaling manual administration.

Progress, based in Burlington, Massachusetts, agreed in September 2024 to buy ShareFile from Cloud Software Group for $875 million, TechCrunch reported at the time. ShareFile then had 86,000 customers and was expected to add about $240 million in annual recurring revenue, and it served sectors including healthcare and financial services.

The numbers

Date DLP, UEBA and centralized security view become available
October 1, 2026
Price Progress agreed to pay for ShareFile (2024, per TechCrunch)
$875 million
ShareFile customers at acquisition (per TechCrunch)
86,000
Expected annual recurring revenue from ShareFile (2024, per TechCrunch)
About $240 million
Severity score of the most serious April 2026 ShareFile flaw (per Cybersecurity Dive)
9.8

Why CEOs should care

For CISOs and compliance leads at healthcare, financial services and other regulated firms, the change Progress is selling is enforcement: the file-sharing tool applies rules itself instead of relying on staff to remember them. Before relying on it, ask Progress which content types the DLP engine supports, since the company describes it as covering supported text-based content: find out whether scanned PDFs and images are included, how many false positives to expect, and whether a block can be overridden and by whom. Confirm that UEBA alerts reach your SIEM through the Splunk or Sentinel integration rather than sitting in a separate console.

Security teams should also weigh ShareFile's recent record. In April, Cybersecurity Dive reported that researchers had disclosed two critical vulnerabilities in ShareFile's on-premises Storage Zones Controller, CVE-2026-2699 and CVE-2026-2701, rated 9.8 and 9.1 in severity. Progress issued updates, and the outlet said there was no immediate evidence of exploitation at the time. If you run Storage Zones Controller, confirm those patches are installed before adding new controls on top.

For CFOs and IT buyers, Progress has not published a price, so get a written quote for ShareFile Enterprise and set it against what you now pay for separate DLP, user behavior analytics and identity provisioning tools. Ask whether the October 1 features are included in the Enterprise price or sold as add-ons, and whether existing ShareFile contracts can move to the new offering mid-term.

The bigger picture

At $875 million, ShareFile was a sizable purchase for Progress, and the Enterprise offering is aimed at getting more out of it: Progress is pitching larger and regulated organizations rather than the broad base of 86,000 customers ShareFile had at the time of the deal. Folding DLP and behavior analytics into the file-sharing tool also means fewer separate security products for customers to connect, though it concentrates more of that control with one vendor. For regulated buyers, that trade-off matters: a single vendor's outage or security flaw would then affect both the file sharing and the controls meant to protect it.

What’s next

The DLP, UEBA and centralized security features switch on October 1, 2026. Customers adopting ShareFile Enterprise should first decide who owns the new DLP policies, whether security, compliance or IT, and test them on a small group before turning on download blocks for everyone, since a misfiring rule could stop legitimate client work. Watch for pricing details, early customer feedback on false positives, and whether Progress extends DLP coverage beyond text-based content.

What “Fact-checked” means

Fact-checking means testing a story’s facts against the evidence before it is published. This story went through at least two separate checks before this version was published.

What we checked
Its names, figures, dates, job titles, quotes and who said what were checked against the story’s sources, including its main source where it could be opened. The headline was checked for accuracy and overstatement.
How
A first check reviewed the whole story. If it passed, a second, skeptical check went back to the sources to look for mistakes in the most important facts. If a check flagged the story, it was edited to fix the problems found, and a separate re-check then reviewed the whole story again.
Who
The checks are made by our newsroom, as steps kept separate from the writing, under rules set by our editor, . A story the checks still flag is held for the editor, who decides whether it is fixed, published or dropped.
If something is wrong
“Fact-checked” does not mean error-free. If a material error is found after publication, we correct the story and add a note saying what changed. Report an error

How we fact-check →

Companies in this story

Progress SoftwareShareFileData loss preventionDocument collaboration

Earlier coverage of Block

All Block coverage →

Written by

Editor · Technology & Business Writer

Hussein is a writer and business technology enthusiast focused on the intersection of technology, entrepreneurship, finance, artificial intelligence, and digital innovation.

CoversAICybersecurityBig TechSaaSStartupsFintech

About this story. Researched from primary sources whenever they are available and fact-checked before publication.

Published by Tech CEO Daily, an independent publication. Masthead · Editorial standards

Follow Tech CEO Daily on Facebook for the day’s top stories in your feed.

Free newsletters

The technology briefing for people running businesses.

Daily, weekly, bi-weekly or monthly. You choose.

How often

The Daily Brief · Monday to Saturday, 7 a.m. ET

Free forever. One click to unsubscribe. We never sell your email.