Skip to content
TECH CEO Daily
SaaSDeal

Salesforce Listen Labs acquisition brings AI that simulates customer reactions into CRM

Listen Labs' AI agents interview customers in 120-plus languages and generate simulated responses; Salesforce did not disclose a price.

By · Editor

· 3 min read · Fact-checked

The 60-second brief

  • 1Salesforce signed a definitive agreement on September 29, 2026, to acquire Listen Labs; financial terms were not disclosed.
  • 2Listen Labs' AI agents run customer interviews and its digital twins generate simulated responses to products and marketing messages.
  • 3Business Insider reported on September 9, citing unnamed sources, that Salesforce was in talks to buy Listen Labs for about $2 billion.

The news

Salesforce (CRM) said on September 29, 2026, that it signed a definitive agreement to acquire Listen Labs, a startup whose AI agents run customer research and simulate how customers may respond. Financial terms of the Salesforce Listen Labs acquisition were not disclosed.

According to Salesforce, Listen Labs' agents design studies, recruit participants, conduct in-depth interviews and summarize the findings on one platform. The agents can draw on a network of more than 50 million participants and run interviews around the clock in more than 120 languages. Salesforce said the process cuts research timelines from months to days.

The more unusual piece is what Listen Labs calls digital twins: AI simulations grounded in real customer behavior that generate simulated responses. Salesforce said teams can use them to test how customers might react to a new product, marketing message or idea before further customer testing. Listen Labs CEO and co-founder Alfred Wahlforss said in the announcement that a company can "simulate how customers will respond before making a move."

Salesforce said the deal will complement Marketing Cloud, Service Cloud and its broader AI portfolio, and help companies move beyond static surveys and traditional market research. Aman Naimat, president of AI Labs at Salesforce, said the company plans to expand access to Listen Labs' agentic capabilities through Salesforce. The transaction is expected to close in the fourth quarter of Salesforce's fiscal year 2027, subject to closing conditions including regulatory clearance.

Business Insider reported on September 9 that Salesforce was in talks to buy Listen Labs for about $2 billion, citing unnamed sources, according to PYMNTS. Neither company confirmed a price in the announcement. In January 2026, Listen Labs raised a $69 million Series B at a $500 million valuation led by Ribbit Capital, bringing its total funding to $100 million, VentureBeat reported.

Sequoia Capital, which led Listen Labs' seed round in 2023 and its Series A, wrote on September 29 that customers include Google, Levi's and Microsoft. VentureBeat reported in January that the company had conducted more than one million AI-led interviews and grew annualized revenue 15-fold to eight figures in the nine months after launch.

The numbers

Deal price
Not disclosed; about $2 billion in talks, per Business Insider (Sept. 9)
Listen Labs participant network
More than 50 million people
Interview languages
More than 120
Series B (January 2026)
$69 million at a $500 million valuation
Total funding before the deal
$100 million (per VentureBeat)
Expected close
Q4 of Salesforce fiscal 2027

Why CEOs should care

For CMOs and customer insight leaders, Salesforce is pitching this as a replacement for static surveys and slow agency projects, not an add-on. If your team buys research from survey platforms or agencies, be ready for Salesforce to pitch AI-run studies alongside Marketing Cloud and Service Cloud. Before shifting budget, run a side-by-side pilot: the same research question through your current vendor and through AI-led interviews, comparing cost, turnaround time and whether the findings match.

For legal, privacy and security teams, two questions matter most. First, the interviews involve real people, often on video, so ask how participant consent, recordings and data residency are handled once Listen Labs sits inside Salesforce. Second, digital twins are built from customer behavior, so ask what data trains them, whether your own CRM records would feed a simulation, and whether customers can opt out. Simulated answers are not real answers; set a rule that major pricing, product or brand decisions need validation from actual respondents.

For existing Listen Labs customers, ask now about contract continuity, pricing after the close and whether the product will stay available to companies that do not run Salesforce. Naimat's comment about expanding access through Salesforce points to selling it through Salesforce's own channels; get any standalone pricing and exit terms in writing before renewal.

The bigger picture

Sequoia described market research as a $100 billion services market that technology had largely left alone. AI agents that interview thousands of people at once, and models that stand in for customers, go after both the labor and the timelines of that industry. For Salesforce, owning the research layer also means more first-party insight flowing into the same system that runs sales, service and marketing. The Listen Labs deal adds to a run of acquisition announcements on Salesforce's newsroom, including Fin, m3ter, Contentful and Momentum.

What’s next

Watch for regulatory clearance and the close in Salesforce's fiscal fourth quarter, then for how Salesforce prices Listen Labs: as a standalone product, a Marketing Cloud add-on or usage-based agent credits. Buyers should also watch for published policies on how simulated respondents are built and labeled.

What “Fact-checked” means

Fact-checking means testing a story’s facts against the evidence before it is published. This story went through at least two separate checks before this version was published.

What we checked
Its names, figures, dates, job titles, quotes and who said what were checked against the story’s sources, including its main source where it could be opened. The headline was checked for accuracy and overstatement.
How
A first check reviewed the whole story. If it passed, a second, skeptical check went back to the sources to look for mistakes in the most important facts. If a check flagged the story, it was edited to fix the problems found, and a separate re-check then reviewed the whole story again.
Who
The checks are made by our newsroom, as steps kept separate from the writing, under rules set by our editor, . A story the checks still flag is held for the editor, who decides whether it is fixed, published or dropped.
If something is wrong
“Fact-checked” does not mean error-free. If a material error is found after publication, we correct the story and add a note saying what changed. Report an error

How we fact-check →

Companies in this story

SalesforceListen LabsMarket researchAI agents

Earlier coverage of Salesforce

All Salesforce coverage →

Written by

Editor · Technology & Business Writer

Hussein is a writer and business technology enthusiast focused on the intersection of technology, entrepreneurship, finance, artificial intelligence, and digital innovation.

CoversAICybersecurityBig TechSaaSStartupsFintech

About this story. Researched from primary sources whenever they are available and fact-checked before publication.

Published by Tech CEO Daily, an independent publication. Masthead · Editorial standards

Follow Tech CEO Daily on Facebook for the day’s top stories in your feed.

Free newsletters

The technology briefing for people running businesses.

Daily, weekly, bi-weekly or monthly. You choose.

How often

The Daily Brief · Monday to Saturday, 7 a.m. ET

Free forever. One click to unsubscribe. We never sell your email.