The 60-second brief
- 1Salesforce launched AIforce on September 15, bringing CRM data and workflows into Claude, Slack and Lightning.
- 2Salesforce in Claude is in beta with 37 sales skills; Agentforce Coworker is generally available.
- 3Pricing was not disclosed, and a September 17 help article says agent calls will consume Flex Credits.
- Prebuilt sales skills in Salesforce in Claude
- 37
- Agentforce Coworker users activated
- 100,000 in 35 days
- Daily API calls on Salesforce platform (company figure)
- 9.6 billion
- Koa error rate vs leading models (Salesforce benchmark)
- Three times fewer errors
Why CEOs should care
CIOs should start with licensing. If sales reps work in Claude or Slack and rarely open Salesforce, the seat mix a company needs may change, and so may the cost of each interaction. Before any rollout, ask Salesforce in writing how AIforce use is licensed, which user types are required, and how Salesforce in Claude will be priced when it leaves beta. Keep regulated workflows off beta features until they reach general availability.
CISOs should map every path into the CRM. AIforce multiplies the tools that can read and write customer records, from Claude to custom agents. Salesforce says it will offer zero data retention and agent registration with separate credentials; get the retention commitment into the contract, confirm how permissions carry across tools, and assign an owner to each registered agent. Salesforce Ben noted that using an outside AI tool with Salesforce can mean paying both the AI provider and Salesforce.
CFOs should model that dual cost now. Flex Credits already meter Agentforce actions, and the September 17 change adds a meter on agent access to data. Ask for a usage estimate based on real call volumes, a cap on any new multiplier, and notice periods longer than the 30 days Salesforce has said it will give.
Key takeaways
- Salesforce launched AIforce on September 15, bringing CRM data and workflows into Claude, Slack and Lightning.
- Salesforce in Claude is in beta with 37 sales skills; Agentforce Coworker is generally available.
- Pricing was not disclosed, and a September 17 help article says agent calls will consume Flex Credits.
The news
Salesforce AIforce, launched by Salesforce (CRM) on September 15 at its Dreamforce conference, lets people and AI agents use CRM data and workflows from Claude, Slack and other tools without opening the Salesforce app. Pricing was not disclosed.
Salesforce describes AIforce as a live interface layer over its platform. The main pieces are Salesforce in Claude, a Model Context Protocol (MCP) server with 37 prebuilt sales skills; Slackforce, which surfaces Salesforce data inside Slack; Agentforce Coworker, an AI assistant inside Salesforce's Lightning interface; and a Headless Toolkit of MCP servers, APIs, plugins and skills. MCP is an open standard that lets AI models call outside tools and data.
Availability varies. Salesforce in Claude is in beta, piloted by Deloitte, GitLab and Legora, according to the company. Agentforce Coworker is generally available, and Salesforce said 100,000 users were activated within 35 days. Salesforce Ben reported that Claude users can reach the beta through Salesforce's AppExchange and that the integration respects existing org permissions.
Salesforce also introduced Koa, its first CRM reasoning model, built on Nvidia (NVDA) Nemotron 3 Super and post-trained on synthetic data. Koa is in pilot with select customers, with general availability planned for winter 2026 in U.S. regions. Salesforce said Koa matched or beat leading models on its own CRM benchmark with three times fewer errors. TechCrunch reported the model is designed to use fewer tokens than frontier models.
On governance, Salesforce Ben reported a Trusted Enterprise AI Harness that includes an AI Control Plane for discovering and monitoring agents. A Salesforce blog for IT teams listed MCP Risk Scores, which scan integrations for threats when agents are registered. Two days after the keynote, on September 17, a Salesforce help article said calls by registered agents over MCP or API will be metered as Headless Platform Interactions, consuming Flex Credits at a rate not yet set.
The numbers
- Prebuilt sales skills in Salesforce in Claude
- 37
- Agentforce Coworker users activated
- 100,000 in 35 days
- Daily API calls on Salesforce platform (company figure)
- 9.6 billion
- Koa error rate vs leading models (Salesforce benchmark)
- Three times fewer errors
Why CEOs should care
CIOs should start with licensing. If sales reps work in Claude or Slack and rarely open Salesforce, the seat mix a company needs may change, and so may the cost of each interaction. Before any rollout, ask Salesforce in writing how AIforce use is licensed, which user types are required, and how Salesforce in Claude will be priced when it leaves beta. Keep regulated workflows off beta features until they reach general availability.
CISOs should map every path into the CRM. AIforce multiplies the tools that can read and write customer records, from Claude to custom agents. Salesforce says it will offer zero data retention and agent registration with separate credentials; get the retention commitment into the contract, confirm how permissions carry across tools, and assign an owner to each registered agent. Salesforce Ben noted that using an outside AI tool with Salesforce can mean paying both the AI provider and Salesforce.
CFOs should model that dual cost now. Flex Credits already meter Agentforce actions, and the September 17 change adds a meter on agent access to data. Ask for a usage estimate based on real call volumes, a cap on any new multiplier, and notice periods longer than the 30 days Salesforce has said it will give.
The bigger picture
AIforce is Salesforce's answer to a threat to every application vendor: AI assistants becoming the screen employees open first. Slack's chief marketing officer, Ryan Gavin, told SiliconANGLE that Slackbot has reached 1.5 million monthly active users since January, making it the fastest-adopted product in Salesforce's history. Rather than fight for the interface, Salesforce is positioning its data, workflows and permissions as the layer those assistants must call. That strategy depends on partners, including Anthropic through the Claudeforce partnership announced August 26, and it moves Salesforce's revenue toward metered usage rather than seats alone.
What's next
Dreamforce ran September 15 to 17 in San Francisco, with Marc Benioff joined on stage by Anthropic's Dario Amodei and Nvidia's Jensen Huang. Next milestones include Koa's general availability in winter 2026, the Hunter outbound sales agent's planned general availability in November, per Salesforce Ben, and the published rate for Headless Platform Interactions, which Salesforce says will come with 30 days' notice.
Sources
- PrimaryAIforce announcement— Salesforce
- PrimaryKoa reasoning model press release— Salesforce
- PrimaryDreamforce 2026 Announcements for IT— Salesforce
- PrimaryUnderstand AIforce Impact (Help article)— Salesforce
- ReportSalesforce and Nvidia's new reasoning model is everything the AI labs should fear— TechCrunch
- ReportThe 6 Biggest Takeaways from the Dreamforce '26 Main Keynote— Salesforce Ben
- ReportBiggest Dreamforce '26 Announcements: Everything in a Nutshell— Salesforce Ben
- ReportSalesforce Will Charge Flex Credits for Agentic MCP and API Calls— Salesforce Ben
- ReportDreamforce 2026 Guide: Dates, Themes, and What to Expect— UC Today
- ReportAI agents at Dreamforce 2026: from demos to outcomes— SiliconANGLE
Spotted an error? Request a correction. Read our editorial standards and AI policy.
The Daily Brief
The technology briefing for people running businesses.
Weekdays at 6 a.m. ET. Free.



