The news
Island, the Dallas-based maker of an enterprise browser, announced a $400 million Series F round on September 24, 2026, at a $6.4 billion valuation. The company says the money will fund its push to secure and govern AI agents alongside human workers.
Evolution Equity Partners led the round. Other participants included Prysm Capital, Sequoia Capital, Coatue Management, Cyberstarts, Insight Partners, J.P. Morgan Growth Equity Partners, Alta Park Capital, Georgian, G Squared and Squarepoint, according to the company. Cybersecurity entrepreneur Dmitri Alperovitch also made another personal investment.
Island built its name on a browser designed for corporate use, with security and IT controls built in rather than bolted on. In the funding announcement it described itself as an agentic control plane for enterprises, meaning a single layer that gives visibility, control and auditing across browsers, endpoints, networks and data, whether the actor is a person or an AI agent.
The company said the new valuation is more than double its 2024 level and that its annual recurring revenue has doubled every fiscal year since its 2022 launch. It did not disclose revenue figures. Island employs about 1,000 people and runs a large research and development operation in Tel Aviv, according to Israel Defense.
Island plans to invest in research and development and expand into Europe, Asia and the Middle East, according to Dealroom and TechStartups. Chief executive and co-founder Mike Fey said the company aims to grow to 1,500 employees by mid-2027, Dealroom reported. Island counts Pfizer, Chipotle, American Airlines and major financial institutions among its customers, according to TechStartups.
Fey framed the moment as a reset of the security market. “Every old control is breaking, so everything's up for grabs,” he told CNBC, according to Dealroom. Island ranked No. 28 on CNBC's 2026 Disruptor 50 list of private companies, TechStartups noted.
The numbers
- Series F size
- $400 million
- Valuation
- $6.4 billion
- Employees
- About 1,000
- Headcount target by mid-2027
- 1,500 (reported)
Why CEOs should care
For chief information security officers, Island's pitch is that the browser is where both staff and agents touch data, so it is the natural place to enforce policy. If your company is piloting AI agents that log into software-as-a-service tools, ask each vendor on your shortlist three things: can it tell an agent session from a human one, can it block specific actions rather than whole sites, and can it produce an audit trail your compliance team will accept.
For CIOs and procurement teams, a well-funded vendor lowers the risk that a core control disappears mid-contract, but it also raises the stakes of lock-in. Island is expanding into data protection and network security, categories where many companies already pay incumbents. Before consolidating, map which existing tools the browser would replace, what the exit path looks like, and whether pricing is per human seat, per agent or both.
Boards should treat this round as a market signal rather than a product endorsement. Investors are paying for the idea that agent oversight will become a standing budget line. Directors can ask management a simple question: who inside the company is accountable for what AI agents are allowed to see and do, and what tooling backs that up?
The bigger picture
Island's raise landed two days after data security company Cyera disclosed a $400 million Series G extension from Goldman Sachs Alternatives at a valuation above $12 billion, a round also tied to controlling what AI agents can access. Taken together, the deals show late-stage investors concentrating capital in companies that promise to sit between AI agents and corporate data. Island will compete with established vendors such as Palo Alto Networks (PANW) as well as newer AI security startups, according to TechStartups.
What’s next
Watch for Island to announce new agent-specific controls and pricing, and for signs of how quickly it hires toward its 1,500-person target. The company has not said when, or whether, it plans to go public, and it has not disclosed revenue or total capital raised, so its next disclosures on growth will be the clearest test of the new valuation. Customers renewing contracts in 2027 should also watch whether agent features arrive as included upgrades or as separately priced modules.
What “Fact-checked” means
Fact-checking means testing a story’s facts against the evidence before it is published. This story went through at least two separate checks before this version was published.
- What we checked
- Its names, figures, dates, job titles, quotes and who said what were checked against the story’s sources, including its main source where it could be opened. The headline was checked for accuracy and overstatement.
- How
- A first check reviewed the whole story. If it passed, a second, skeptical check went back to the sources to look for mistakes in the most important facts. If a check flagged the story, it was edited to fix the problems found, and a separate re-check then reviewed the whole story again.
- Who
- The checks are made with our newsroom’s technology tools, as steps kept separate from the writing, under rules set by our editor, Hussein Mukhtar. A story the checks still flag is not published automatically; it is held for the editor, who decides whether it is fixed, published or dropped.
- If something is wrong
- “Fact-checked” does not mean error-free. If a material error is found after publication, we correct the story and add a note saying what changed. Report an error
Companies in this story








